Desire for Digital Learning

This video is the property of bjnesbitt@youtube.com

So you’re not a “digital native?”  Neither was I.  I challenged myself to learn a new tool each year because I thought it would benefit my students.  I was right.  Students want to be active learners.  They want hands on, challenging, and engaging assignments.  They don’t want to find answers in a book, that’s just regurgitating facts.  Make them apply, create, and manipulate the information they’ve learned.  Allow them to demonstrate their learning through web 2.0 tools.

I’ve seen students creating amazing things with web 2.0 tools.  I have witnessed students creating stories, podcasts, wikis, video tutorials, and more.  I’ve watched students research topics they’ve selected and utilizing presentation software to share their findings.  I’ve seen the smiles on the faces of K-1 students who are able to manipulate numbers and letters on a SmartBoard or sort objects under the document camera.  I’ve read forum discussions in 4-5 grade that have sparked offline debate and conversations.  I’ve been blown away by the introvert in my class who leads my classroom in online discussion forums and polls.

Technology has the power to spark wonder and creativity in your classroom.  Will you allow it?

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

