Why not have a little fun?

So our building principal, who I’ve happily addicted to Twitter, is visiting her tweetfeed and a tweet from Nicholas Provenzano peeks her interest.  I had to laugh when her tweet to me said, “…challenge for pssa de-escalation? Checking lyrics. 🙂 it was a baaaad idea encouraging me on twitter! bit.ly/12LpS2E

So of course I am psyched!

1) My building principal is totally rocking Twitter!

2)  She wants the students to have fun and be creative.

3)  Can I reiterate the words… PSSA de-escalation enough!???  We all need a little fun and creativity once the madness of multiple choice and open-ended questions subsides.

4)  Did I mention our administrator is not only on board, but encouraging this!!???

So of course I am super excited and surfing the web like crazy trying to find a kid-friendlier song for my 2-5 kiddos, then I decided to challenge my admin to stretch a little farther out on the limb with me.  I challenge the entire student body in grades 2-5 to make a class video and the kids, not me, not my admin friend, and not the teachers pick a motivational, school appropriate song to interpret.

I am so excited to see all the entries that come in!  The plan is to shoot the videos post PSSA and then have the student body vote for the number 1 video, although I am sure they  will ALL be winners and make a debute at the end of the year awards assembly.

I sent out a building-wide faculty e-mail with the subject line, “You’ve been challenged.  In case you would like to challenge your own schools, I’ve provided the attachment our school used.

motivational video competition

Reminder to my awesome Bulldog co-workers:  Game on!

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in elementary education, technology integration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

