Flipping out

So I am going to be teaching fifth grade in an urban setting with a high rate of economically disadvantaged students.  Is it feasible to flip my instruction?  Or is it irresponsible to consider it knowing the above statistics?  Will I be offering students a way to access the content and online tutorials created by myself and my students 24-7 or will I be wasting my time with the creation and storing of these videos only to have a few use them?  Is this even a good instructional strategy at the elementary level.

Flipped Classroom

Created by Knewton and Column Five Media

According to the graphic above, flipping instruction will enable students to prelearn concepts at home and then come to school for guided practice and labs.  I think making 3 videos a week on math concepts is completely doable.  I also like the possibility of these videos being there to revisit as needed and their ability to support both students and the parents attempting to support them with this “new math.”  It is my hope to have my students making them as well.  There is certainly something to be said for allowing the students to come to school with an understanding of the content prior to arrival and then giving them guided practice in class, as opposed to sending them home to practice incorrectly.

Now my next dilemma, hosting the videos!  Should I use Youtube? If I use a school account I can make the videos unlisted so that my students must have a link to see them.  Youtube, however tends to have a stigma with parents and maybe its familiarity with students for silly videos might not make them take these flipped assignments seriously.  Not sure on this one!  Does anyone out there use Youtube for flipping?  I could also host the videos on Moodle, but I can’t imagine what that scroll of death will look like by the time we have created a year’s worth of videos.

Okay friends and fellow educators, I am really relying on some feedback from you guys.  “To flip, or not to flip?” That is my question.

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flipping out

  1. Jill says:

    Want to do this, Miss! Would love to get together this summer and make some videos! I am thinking grammar, figurative language……hmm!!!!!!

  2. Gregg says:

    Do it! If it makes an impact or improves the learning of at least one child it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

