iCan see iPads in my future

Today was my first Eduspire iPad course. I left exhausted, drained, and completely inspired by the awesome opportunities iPads can bring to students at the elementary level. I am so glad I took this class this summer despite being totally burned out after 2 masters. I wasn’t going to take any courses in the foreseeable future but the talk about Eduspire’s iPad course was contagious and I couldn’t be happier I caved! Not only did I learn a lot about screencasting tools for the iPad today, but I also got a free iPad when I registered for the course!  Seems almost too good to be true, but it is.

My favorite apps of the day were Skitch and Educreations.  I think both of these apps get an A+ for use in elementary education.  As I have previously shared I am seriously thinking of delving into flipped instruction for math this year.  So Educreations with it’s easy to use interface is a perfect match for students making instructional videos for one another to watch and revisit throughout the school year.  Tonight I made this example in no time at all and I dare say with very little coaching my 8 year old daughter made one as well.

edm lattice mult

Skitch is a different bird altogether, but I really like the ability to share images and have students mark them up.  It would be great to send students an image of a map and ask them to mark the route a famous explorer took on his voyage, or to trace the movement of a battle.  You could also email or share an image in drop box and ask them to make predictions on what the image is, what it has to do w/ our previously learned lesson or upcoming lesson.

All I can say is I am only 1 day in and I am totally, kid in the candy store, hooked on apps!  If you have anymore you’d like to suggest for me to check out, please do and stay tuned for more apps as my course progresses!

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in elementary education, technology integration, Technology Tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

