Sold on Application of Apps

Okay, so I have slacked off a bit in the blogging department and I truly apologize to my readers for that, however I got sucked in a vortex that is apps and I still feel like I am caught in it!  I have truly decided that my iPad(s) are going to be my new best friend next year.  Let me first say that if you live in the PA area, you need to consider taking Eduspire’s iPad course!  Well worth the price of admission when you consider the fact you will leave with an iPad and a mountain of apps that can easily be infused into your classroom routine.  I loved the class, the instructors, and am officially hooked on my iPad! Now that I am done my sales pitch for all things Eduspire, let me tell you about some of the amazing apps I have stumbled upon this week!

I am amazed at the plethora of apps available for presenting material.  I am even more intrigued by the fact that I could find apps that cost nothing that do amazing things.  As I stated in a previous blog I am contemplating flipping my math instruction this year.  So my socks were totally knocked off by all the screencasting apps available for the iPad!  However, my heart was won over by EduCreations.  It may not have all the bells and whistles of some other paid apps, but it is a wonderful screencasting app.  I am positive my students, 5th graders this year, will be successful using this app to create their own instructional videos.  Implementing this app will allow my students to create videos about our math instruction that I can post for remediation or keep for next year’s flipped videos.  The nice thing is the sharing that goes on at Educreations.  If you don’t have time to make your own video, check out the wealth of already created videos that other educators have shared publicly.  Did I mention that it’s free!??

Another app I absolutely adore is book creator.  This one isn’t free, but coming in under 5 dollars made it an easy purchase. How cool is it to be able to create interactive picture books for your students, or better yet have them create them for the class!  The ability to incorporate images, video, and audio into a picture book makes the possibilities endless.  I made a great book for my students when they return to school.  Not only does it introduce them to all the wonderful behaviors bulldogs (our school mascot) exemplify , but it does so using a wide variety of literary elements.  I used the audio to instruct them on the type of literary element used on the given page, while prompting them in a different color text to find the devices employed on that page.  The true test of the book’s power became evident when I sat down with my almost third grader and she not only loved the story and pictures, but could find examples of literary elements in the story with ease.  And I just have to mention that my 2-year old loved the pics and hearing my voice even if she didn’t understand the literary devices!

The final app I am going to rave about in this blog, and I am sure there will be more to follow, is board cam.  I am so going to use and abuse this app!  I am blessed and fortunate to have a tech enhanced classroom, but I am an old timer so I got my TEC long before document cameras were all the craze.  Well fear not, because for the low price of $0.00 I can download the Board Cam app and turn my iPad into a document camera.  What a savings that is (not to mention a life saver)!

Okay friends, I am waiting to hear from you!  What apps to you absolutely adore?  Which apps make your children squeal with delight? Which ones make your future in education look bright?

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in education, elementary education, technology integration, Technology Tools and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

