Anticipation building (AKA freaking out over change)

So I left my blog hanging yet again, but I have a really good excuse this time.  I was peeved!  I wrote this really great blog.  I was quite happy with it and then… disaster!  The computer locked up and I had to shut her down.  Needless to say I lost it all!  Lesson learned: save, and save frequently.  It isn’t just something we should tell our students.  Ugh!

So I am less than a month out now for the upcoming school year.  I have sooo very much to do and I feel like I can’t get anything done!  It’s tough not being able to get into my classroom, unpack, and prepare so I can focus on the planning and building of a rigorous and tech integrated instructional plan.  But do I really need to be in my classroom to do all that? No!  The classroom is only the 4-walls, but sometimes my old school thoughts intrude on my new beliefs and paralyze me.

I don’t need pretty bulletin boards, organized physical materials, or a cool set up to my classroom to teach, but it still helps and it certainly goes a LONG way toward classroom management.  However I am trying to remind myself that the import part is that I establish a connection with my students, I challege them to think harder and differently than they’ve ever thought before, and I encourage them to set goals and monitor their progress towards those goals and no amount of physical preparation IN my classroom will make those things come to fruition.

So for now I am diving into my Moodle courses.  I have established a survey to get to know my homeroom students BEFORE they enter my classroom.  The amount of responses I get should give me an understanding of who does/does not have access to the internet and devices to utilize online tools.  I am making short videos to teach my math content for my students to preview and review from home, and I am praying for peace of mind as I await the access to my physical space.

Working from home is tough when you have 3 kids running around, but I love my time with my kids so it’s a game of balance and lack of sleep while I plunge into work while they slumber for the evening.  I am not telling you teachers out there anything you don’t already know and do. Again, when do our vacations really start?!!? I’ve often said the saint who opens a summer camp for teachers’ children will be awarded in leaps and bounds 😉

So to all of you teachers out there… running out of steam and dragging your nails in the floor fighting the dying days of summer, enjoy a little PEP talk from Kid President.  This kid rocks and if his words don’t put a little pep in your step you need to take the polar bear plunge!

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

