Flippin’ out over math

This year has been a whirlwind to say the least. A month has flown by and I am loving the freedom of having my own group once again. I don’t know how I did it without my own kiddos for 3 years.

I began flipping my instruction in math this year. It was a brave and very daunting task but I am seeing the benefits and loving every minute of it! I have decided to create my own lessons using an app called Explain Everything. While this is time consuming to say the least, it has allowed my students to see the lesson prior to entering my class and then allowed me to focus on guiding them in their practice of the lesson at school. I have to say once they practice it incorrectly at home it takes so much more time to “unteach” it again. So why not dabble?

And yes, I am firmly aware of the haves and have nots. There is no way around it and for lack of a better term, it stinks! But my class has worked around it. We allow those without technology access at home to watch the preview at the end of the day during DEAR time. This is great bc some of my students who have access at home tune into the lesson while it’s playing at school and then tune in once again at home!

Parents? They love it! Where else can parents learn the “new math” along with their students? No where. Now they can preview right along with their child and ask questions, give them practice questions, and truly see how instruction would take place in a traditional classroom.

I have seen proof in this method too. The first unit test we took I have 98% of my students at proficient and advanced. Only one student didn’t pass and it was a close one.

I will continue this pilot and hope that in the end I have created something that all students using 5th grade EDM can benefit from. Have I mentioned lately how much I love instructional technology!?

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in elementary education, technology integration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flippin’ out over math

  1. Shanda says:

    Wow! You can’t deny your data! I’m really impressed! 😃

Leave a Reply

