#notatiste16

I’m bummed. I am 1,647 miles, or 25 hours and 48 minutes, away from the greatest professional development opportunity in the United States for educators who are innovators and technology enthusiasts. I am really missing the excitement, enthusiasm, and energy of being at the Colorado Convention Center. Last year, being live at ISTE 2015 in Philadelphia was amazing. However, great professional development isn’t cheap and times are hard, so no flights to Colorado for me this year.

I was stalking Twitter. My techie teacher friends were probably getting notification overload as a retweeted their every shared resource, but I didn’t care.  I became a sponge. However being a sponge sucks the mobility right out of your life and with 4 kids, a puppy, and some household construction going on… I needed mobility! I was just about to give up the ghost when I stumbled upon a new hashtag, well new to me anyways! I found #notatiste16 and I was so excited I did some really foolish dance moves to further embarrass my sassy, redheaded tween. (Don’t get me wrong embarrassing tweens is a service I love to provide!)

I am now back in the game, and mobile! I am able to create my own #notatiste16 badge, complete with ribbons. I am participating in karaoke tonight too! However despite the fun elements, I am some major brain overload going on currently and it is because over 900 educators who couldn’t attend #iste2016 decided to come together, share resources, and celebrate professional development happening in Colorado from the comfort of their own devices and in the comfort of their own PJs!

I won’t lie and say it is better than the real deal, because NOTHING competes with being in a room filled with thousands of teachers, innovators, and exhibits. Being there is the flesh is second best to none, however in the absence of funding I will take any opportunity that comes along to make it happen for myself and the faculty that I will work along side. I hope you will consider giving the #notatiste16 community on Google + a look. Maybe stay a while, win a few rounds of bingo and sing a few off tune melodies via Snapchat!

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

