Edcamps are Excellent PD

Today we held #edcampyork. I had so much fun planning this event w/ a group of York County educators that it seems odd to believe it’s over and done already.

I love attending Edcamps. They offer a unique, unplanned, informal structure that is conducive to educators sinking their teeth into a topic and really putting themselves out there. I love the ease with which sharing takes place in these settings. 

The rule of two feet ensures that all educators and admin in attendance get exactly what the need. If a session you selected isnt what you thought it was going to be, move on to another. I often do this simply to allow myself to experience more topics. 

A lot of first time Edcamp participants were at the first annual #edcampyork today. I hope each and every one of them found a new tip, trick, or tool to take back and plug into their classrooms this week! 

I wish more PD was available at the district level that was authentic, teacher needs driven, and allowed for free movement and attendance. I think teachers would really buy into this model of PD. 

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

