Goal Smashing

As educators, we constantly talk about and teach our students how to set and smash their goals. We have learned about SMART goals and tracking data to help us track our progress towards smashing goals.

I have decided to do some goal smashing myself. Every year when I begin my instruction for Wilson EDU I share my kryptonite with the attendees in my courses. Every year that kryptonite remains the same. I love to blog, but I NEVER maintain my own. I get caught up in all the latest tools, trends, and the classrooms I service. I fail to take the time to reflect and share that reflection with others.

This year I have committed to smashing this goal. I have committed to blogging AT LEAST once a month. I have made this goal attainable by adding some accountability for myself. I have committed to becoming a Blogging Buddy and joined an Ed Tech Blogging Community via ISTE. Hopefully being assigned buddies who have the same goals as myself will not only help me maintain my blog, but help me to become a better blog reader. It will challenge me to read my blog partners’ blogs routinely and comment on them as well.

Writing a blog is great, but having an authentic audience that engages in your blog is so much better. I love getting comments and answering them. A lot of my followers are more reluctant to comment on my blog itself and instead choose to email me directly. This is a good start, however if we are good consumers of blogs we need to add to them as well by sharing our thoughts, concerns, or ideas in the blog comments as well. This allows all blog readers to grow and comment on one another’s posts.

I hope the people in my PLNs #wyasdpride, #ktifamily, #ETCoaches will help me to grow as a blogger and help me hold myself accountable to my commitment to blog at least once a month. I am looking forward to come encouraging, thought provoking, and challenging comments along the way. Thanks for everyone’s support! blogging buddies

About bulldogtechteach

I am a technology integrator serving in a k-1 and a 2-5 elementary building. I firmly believe in the power of technology to engage students and allow them to create and master their learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goal Smashing

  1. Katie Siemer says:

    Hi Missy, we’re glad you’re joining us for Blogging Buddies. Looking forward to learning and growing with you!

Leave a Reply

